Eagle & slotted pads ...

Post Reply
-Tom-Tom-
Posts: 16
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2022 6:46 am

Eagle & slotted pads ...

Post by -Tom-Tom- »

It's a silly topic... but Eagle doesn't/didn't support plated slotted holes.

Most PCB manufacturers support the workaround of drawing a milling line (milling diameter = line width) in the milling layer, wich will later become the plated slot.
By generating the Gerber file, the milling layer is exported to the dimension-gerber. Generating the slots in the drill file (*.xln) is not supported.

in Zofz:
slotted_zofz.JPG
slotted_zofz.JPG (163.04 KiB) Viewed 984 times
Wish & possible Eagle-Gerber-Export:
slotted_pads_all.PNG
slotted_pads_all.PNG (561.75 KiB) Viewed 983 times
oauming
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2022 3:52 am

Re: Eagle & slotted pads ...

Post by oauming »

Cadence/allegro, the same problem
User avatar
Zofz
Site Admin
Posts: 46
Joined: Wed Apr 20, 2022 10:13 pm
Location: Cologne, Germany

Re: Eagle & slotted pads ...

Post by Zofz »

I am still thinking how to solve this. What comes to my mind is to treat loops as the board outline (also non-plated) and the thick open lines as rout plated features. How error-prone would that be? You know, there are strange things on the board outline layers, like text or dimensions arrows, sometimes.
Post Reply